Home > News > Java Server Faces 2.0 is out

Java Server Faces 2.0 is out

Today JSR-314 aka JSF 2.0 was finally released. Expert group was gathered 1st July 2007, so it took almost 2 years to finish the specification. I’m really looking forward to this spec, I am curious and anxious to see what is new. From what I heard, javalobby.com will pretty soon publish RefCards about JSF 2.0, so that should be a good place to start.

From what I saw so far, JSF2.0 tries to take up, where the JSF 1.0 left off. So we are going to hear lots about AJAX support and modularization. But just because those issues were taken into consideration, does not mean that they were handled the right way.  12 members of the expert group voted ‘yes’ for the new specification, however four were against. Those four includes Apache Foundation and IBM. I fear that, when new issues and problems arrive with this new specification, Apache and IBM will once again  say ‘We told you so’.

But right now I’m patiently waiting for reference implementation to try JSF2.0 myself. I really hope that things will get better.

And remember, whatever you want to say about JSF (and me specially since I was recently ranting about it) remember this: JSF is now standard and times where you had to code in pure JSP at work are long long gone.  Always better JSF then model2 jsp-servlet programming 😉

Categories: News Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

