Home > Presentations > Back from Javarsovia2009

Back from Javarsovia2009

Two weeks before Javarsovia were crazy as hell. Not only did I have to move out completely from my apartment (because of its total redecoration and all the dirty and messy work that are triggered because of that), but also make final preparations for my wedding to come (got only 2 months of freedom left 🙂 ), stay at work for 10-11 hours per day (deployment and small misunderstandings with the client) and in the meantime prepare for Javarsovia event. So to all people I was consistently ignoring and not replying emails and/or comments, I apologies, but I was busy. Really, really busy. I will do my best, not to make it happen again.

Back to Javarsovia. Despite the fact that I was actually finishing the presentation at 3 a.m. on Saturday, from what I can read on the web [1], I can count my presentation as a success. So I’m glad you all like it. To all the people who wanted to hear a little bit more then just basics – I’m sorry, it was planned, but there was simply no time (one hour is not enough:)).

Slides will be soon published on Javarsovia page, but I will also put them here on my blog, after translating them into English.

Few people asked me to finally publish THTemplate I presented. It is my pleasure to inform you that the template code is already on the web! I will make separate post about it, with more details, but for all eager who want to try it, here are few things you should know:

  • project finally got a name: Wicket Cool 🙂 (thus THTemplate is obsolete)
  • template I told about during presentation can be accessed by simply running

svn checkout http://wicketcool.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/wctemplate wicketcool-read-only

  • to create archetype simply do this:

svn checkout http://wicketcool.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/wctemplate wicketcool-read-only
cd wctemplate
mvn archetype:create-from-project -Darchetype.filteredExtensions=java

  • now to create your very own project, based on that arechtype, run below in your command line

mvn archetype:generate -Darchetype=wctemplate-archetype -DarchetypeCatalog=local -DgroupId=some-group-id-DartifactId=some-artefact-id -Dversion=some-version

And that should be it. You are ready to go. More about Wicket Cool project soon, but right now you can test drive the project template.

Out.

[1] Note that all of them are in Polish:

http://www.jakubiak.eu/2009/07/javarsowia-a-i-czy-i.html

http://koziolekweb.pl/2009/07/05/javarsovia-2009-juz-po/

http://pacykarz.blogspot.com/2009/07/sen-o-warszawie-javarsovia-2009.html

http://luksza.org/2009/07/06/javarsovia-09/

http://codehardgopro.blogspot.com/2009/07/javarsovia-2009-wrazenia.html

http://blog.kedziorski.pl/

http://marekklis.blogspot.com/

Categories: Presentations
  1. July 7, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Paweł You forgot about me 😉

    OK. For people who dont speak polish. Paul made the best presentation that I ever seen (I seen many). Of course we should learn from You how to make good IT presentation.

    • paulszulc
      July 7, 2009 at 8:26 pm

      wow, how could I missed it (especially since I have your blog on my RSS reader 🙂 ).

      thx for your opinion, glad you like it.

      i did not know you were there by the way 🙂

      • July 7, 2009 at 9:00 pm

        I was there. Man with big beard and open big notebook. on Your left site in 4th our 5th row.

        BTW. people when you want to twit from conference buy smart-phone or borrow netbook from your wife/girlfriend. Taking full-size notebook is very bad idea.

  2. yacoll
    July 10, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Hi Pawel!

    It was quite tough to me to choose between Jaroslaw Blad’s presentation about transactions and your one… Finally I chose transactions 😦 People who organized the Javarsovia promised they would publish all videos at parleys.com – maybe this will be good opportunity to watch your show (I know that many people find it very interesting).

    BTW: you forgot to mention about doing the following:

    $> cd target/generated-sources/archetype
    $> mvn install

    after creating the archetype and before using it.

    Thanks for your efforts, Pawel, you did very good piece of work here!

    Best regards!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

